About Me

  • Q: What's my name ?
    A: My name is Deepak. I was actually named Gurdeep after my birth but then it got changed to Deepak (thanks to the movie that my mom watched which made her change my name; a long indescribable story). But most of my present colleagues find it difficult to pronounce, so they call me Dee. Some modified versions of my name are D-Pack, The-Pack, D-Puck, The-Phuk.
  • Q: How old am I ?
    A: I am 31, single, and not looking.
  • Q: How do I look ?
    A: I am five feet six and a half inches tall (short). I have a dark to wheatish complexion and some of my dear friends take pleasure in calling me black. I have no such feature which can distinguish me from a normal homo sapiens or related species.
  • Q: Where was I born and raised ?
    A: I was born and raised in a small town of central India - Bhilai, which lies in the state of Chhattisgarh. It has India's largest steel plant - Bhilai Steel Plant.
  • Q: Where did I do my schooling ?
    A: I did my schooling in various schools in Bhilai (EMMS IV, EMMS V and SSS IV).
  • Q: When and where did I get my undergraduate degree ?
    A: I received my bachelor's degree at the National Institute of Technology (erstwhile Regional Engineering College) at Trichy in India. It is situated in the southern state of India - Tamil Nadu. I graduated in 2004 with a Bachelor of Technology degree in Metallurgical Engineering.
  • Q: What did I do after my undergraduate studies ?
    A: I worked for two years ('04-'06) in the Research & Development department of Essar Steel Limited at Surat. Surat is in the state of Gujarat in the west of India. Essar Steel Limited is India's largest manufacturer of flat steel products. It has world's largest gas based sponge iron plant.
  • Q: When and where did I receive my M.S. and Ph.D. ?
    A: I received my M.S. in 2008 and Ph.D. in 2013 from the University of Tennessee at Knoxville, both in Materials Science and Engineering. I conducted my master's and doctoral research at the State of Tennessee's Center of Excellence - Center for Laser Applications, The University of Tennessee Space Institute, Tullahoma, Tennessee.
  • Q: What am I doing now ?
    A: I am currently working as a Research Associate in Dr. William Hofmeister's research group at the Center for Laser Applications, The University of Tennessee Space Institute, Tullahoma, Tennessee. I am moving to Oregon in June 2013 to begin my new job at the Intel Corporation.
  • Q: What are my hobbies ?
    A: I like listening to music. I mostly like Rhythm & Blues. I am not a big fan of Classic and Punk. I am a big fanatic of A.R. Rehman and love all his compositions.

    I also like web designing and have been doing it for 12 years.